PETRICHOR…

3fce460df4f576f4dee75ca51a0e8df1

This would be the one feeling every one of us is interested in expressing when they talk about rain. I have come across several souls who express their love for the immense freshness they feel just after a rain. First rain of the season, that evokes so many of us, making us more poetic/romantic/ nature lover. No matter how fed up we happened to be or stressed/sad with our life, a rain can wipe away all the weariness and make our souls feel fresh 🙂
Scientifically, this distinct earthy flavor is due to an organic compound called GEOSMIN produced by Actinobacteria and human nose is extremely sensitive to geosmin that it can detect even a low concentration of 5 parts per trillion of geosmin.
So I suppose now you know the real name for the earthy aroma (PETRICHOR) and reason (GEOSMIN produced by bacteria).
I thought of sharing few gif images related to rain, hope you like it. These are images which hold the magic; they can evoke the writer in you & me 🙂

b7a2944494ddc32881658265a3d85f66

8f5d24447dc5bb0630323f8db9aaf5e2

Who doesn’t wish to get out into the rain? Some wish to watch the rain and some wish to be in the rain (i guess more beautiful statement was made about rain by Bob Marley).  Being part of the reading community, i prefer both (depends on my mood) either watch the rain or feel the rain 🙂 So what do you prefer??? Let me know 🙂

ded9d12d72489763ca77aa5a511c561c

പുറത്തു മഴ കനക്കുകയാണ് , എന്റെ മനസിലെ പേമാരിയും.  വീടിന്റെ അടുക്കള പുറത്തു ഞാൻ ഇറങ്ങി നിന്നു, ഈ പെയ്യുന്ന മഴയുടെ സീല്കാരത്തെ എന്നിലേക്ക്‌ ആവാഹിക്കാൻ എന്ന പോലെ. കടലിലേക്ക് വഴിയറിയാതെ ലക്‌ഷ്യം മാത്രം അറിഞ്ഞു യാത്ര തിരിക്കുന്ന ഈ മഴത്തുള്ളികൾക്കു ഒപ്പം ഞാൻ എന്റെ കണ്ണുനീര്തുള്ളികളെ യാത്ര അയക്കാൻ ആശിക്കുന്നു   

PS: This post is part of my
Wordly Wednesday series.

About elaine

Dreaming to be a marine biologist someday..... Reading, writing, music, movies, travel, art etc. have been a part of my life from a long time. I hold madness....i love to share happiness and i am happy when i see smiles in the faces. I am weird and hybrid in my thoughts and tastes....Proud to be a Leo!

47 responses to “PETRICHOR…

  1. Wow! Sometimes to watch.. sometimes to get drench in the rain.. even swimming in the pond when it rains.. i love everything about RAIN.. Thanks for sharing Elaine.. happy morning 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I would rather watch the rain, except I’m in an exceptionally good mood, where I can then decide to step out in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elaine, thanks for sharing this. You have taught me a new word today….thank you! I love to listen to the rain and I’m not afraid to get. When I was a child nothing could stop me from getting wet in the rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hot tea, some munchies and a good book, sitting on a swing in the balcony with the music of the raindrops falling in the background……..just so perfect!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I love playing in the rain and even drenching😊. Thanks for the new word petrichor!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You made me remind of these lines by charlie chaplin-i love to walk in the rain as no one see my tears 🙂
    This post is a great example even if you got little to tell tell it beautifully.
    Kannadachal namukku ellavarkkum aa mazhayude sound kelkkam alle?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Love the rains and I still wonder why people often call it a bad weather…thanks for the new word!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love your Gifs. They seem so real. I love watching the Rain though. And thanks for the wonderful information on PETRICHOR

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful, awesome, wow…. need I say more?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Elaine so simply getting soaked in the rain and so well explained by you. Loved the whole post. Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. hey AK…lovely post. learned a couple of new words…though I liked the last para (nammude bhasha) the best..

    Liked by 1 person

  12. purathu ippol mazha thakarthu peyyuvanu 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love the rain, and i live in the state of Oregon and we get lots of it here. I went for a three mile walk in it this morning, properly dressed for it, of course. 🙂 When the rain had a short break, the scent outdoors was lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Wow! So beautifully expressed in pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The DIY Librarian

Do-It-Yourself with your own [untraditional] librarian!

beautyobsessed555.wordpress.com/

Beauty And Lifestyle Blog

നഷ്ട്ടനീലാംബരി

തട്ടുമ്പുറത്തെ ഓട്ടുപാത്രങ്ങൾ ക്ലാവ്പിടിച്ചുതുടങ്ങി... എല്ലാം ഒന്ന് തേച്ചുമിനുക്കണം... അവയ്ക്കുമുണ്ടല്ലോ ചില കഥകൾ പറയാൻ.. പോയ് മറഞ്ഞ ആഡംബരങ്ങളുടെ കഥകൾ..

മര്‍ത്ത്യലോകം

അറിഞ്ഞവരും അറിയാത്തവരും അറിവുകെട്ടവരും അടങ്ങുന്ന മര്‍ത്ത്യന്റെ ലോകം

LipstickForLunch

The Musings Of A BeautyHolic

A Dream Lived Greener

Zero Waste Family Life and Shopping in Ottawa, Canada

TravelwithIgor

Expeditions - explorations - adventures

Her Story Continues

"Some days I am more wolf than woman"

Self-Confessed Readaholic

Books! Books! Books!

agosnesrerose

The best of Agnes Rose

