Christmas Weekend

7137d4a674aa604d0a0a2eb7d92fe656

This is one of my long posts hence, do continue reading only if you have enough time to spare.
I hope all my dear friends across the world had a peaceful and joyful Christmas. This post is mainly about how I celebrated Christmas. Don’t get the wrong idea that I had an extravaganza Christmas this time, nor do I ever had or wish for. Almost two weeks itself, I had made up my mind that this time I will have to face Christmas: a lone Christmas. Since it’s on Sunday, the option of going and getting back from home in time was not possible and I am doomed to stay away from home for some particular reasons. So instead of worrying too much about the things which I can’t change, I thought to make the best out of the worst/tough situation where I am now. From last seven years, I have been part of Goa and I never missed any Christmas except last years which was in Mumbai. So what all can I do to keep a joyful Christmas this time?  

I spent most of my lazy free time at my balcony and hence I thought of doing something pleasant there. To break the routine of putting stars for Christmas, I selected colorful Glass Candle lanterns and candles for bringing light 🙂  I had roamed at one of my favorite shops in Panjim (99 rupees Shop) for grabbing different colors of glass candle lanterns.  Those brittle glasses were so much able to fill me with joy 🙂 🙂 🙂 I am happy whenever I saw them.One more thing makes me happy whenever I look at it, a MEMORY WALL, a poster made of my cherished memories and people of my life (Due to some personal pics in the collection, I will be posting them later) 😉 :p 

15542391_1180885161965402_4982892486685157442_n

Friday I had a random plan to watch the movie DANGAL (the best movie i watched so far in 2016). For Christmas day, I downloaded few Hallmark’s  Christmas movies. All were happy ending movies 🙂 Saturday started late for me, I woke up late and with a black coffee and video talk with PP (WordPress nickname for my better half) Skipped my lunch and also did a tiny silver haul from THE KO SHOP ( a famous silver brand) for nose studs I could get a wolf,  pigeon, and few normal ones 😉 😀  

imag2201

Christmas Silver Shopping

crop

Rushed to market for grabbing some vegetables, spices, and meat. My fridge announced strike from last month onwards and couldn’t attend it’s need since I am one among those research scholars whose stipend is pending from last three months. Living under the mercy of parents 😦  I need to finish all my nonvegetarian cooking on that night itself. At the market, I received season greetings from an unknown lady while she saw me taking lettuce. I felt so good 🙂 By the time I got back to room, I was late for my music class. I am performing Carnatic Classical group song for the upcoming foundation day program of my institute. Unfortunately, it is on Jan 1st and hence can’t think of a boozed new year :p I will post on the program later (fingers crossed).  Back from the class, I started my tasks skipping the much tedious room arrangement part. I am too messy…


I kept everything for marination while I heard about my friends going to Arpora Saturday Night market. Every plan changed and so I decided to keep all the meat in friend’s fridge and have dinner on the way to market. It was so chilling night and traveling in two wheeler was even more fun. I could see the Christmas decorations from expensive restaurants, big mansions to the tiny village houses in the interior of Goa. I had 45 minutes drive to reach the market and so many different images, every home, every church, every shop were decorated with lights, stars from basic handmade ones to the costly chandeliers. At the market, there were lots of tiny shops for clothing, leather, ornaments, lamps, and live music too. You can check them here Saturday Nite Market

Unusually, I decided to attend the Holy Mass this time and English version was scheduled on Sunday morning 9.30am. I went to bed at 2.30 am after the roaming from market, setting alarm at 8.05am. I woke up with the Christmas wish from the mother. It was already 9.41am. OMG!!! How did I miss waking up! I checked the alarm settings, I had kept the alarm for Monday to Friday 😀 😀 😀 Somehow I could manage to be at church by 10.05am.  I had a very peaceful time there. I made sure that I expressed my gratefulness for the whole year. 

imag2192

Christmas Crib at Church

imag2194

imag2195

Madera wine was a new attempt for me. The color, odor and taste was really good. After the morning breakfast of beef and pancake (dosa) at my friends mess together with wine and cake (from my side). I felt lazy to cook and spent my afternoon with Christmas movies. Evening, I started cooking for my dinner together with an old classic Malayalam movie ‘ Kakkathamburatti” from 1960’s.

For this Christmas, I made chicken for the first time with less help and for a horror, I decided to adopt one recipe from one of my Blog Friend who is a Chef, Sumith. His blog has got so many tasty dishes and due to my limited facilities, I chose to try out Kerala Spiced Chicken Drumsticks.  You can check the original recipe here kerala.live .My dish didn’t come up to the mark yet I am happy that I did it. I thank him for helping me out with the easy recipe suggestion 🙂 

imag2264

imag2265

I tried out making a salad with lettuce, apple, carrot, cherry, pepper, apple cider vinegar and honey.  That was an experimental dish, which didn’t let me fail, may be I could do some modifications in the future. 

I made veg pulao and chicken curry. Also for a change made my detox drink since I had leftovers of ginger, mint, lemon and cucumber (just added honey).By the time I finished preparation, it was almost 7.45pm. Made an instant cleaning for room and myself. Light the lanterns and set my dinner: a lone dinner. I wasn’t that hungry even though I skipped my lunch.  With a beautiful movie, I slowly ate my Christmas Dinner (I believe this could be my last lone Christmas)….

imag2278

My Christmas dinner

About elaine

Dreaming to be a marine biologist someday..... Reading, writing, music, movies, travel, art etc. have been a part of my life from a long time. I hold madness....i love to share happiness and i am happy when i see smiles in the faces. I am weird and hybrid in my thoughts and tastes....Proud to be a Leo!

37 responses to “Christmas Weekend

  1. isolation during festive season is troublesome to handle. I wish this is your last deserted xmas..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BTW i love those nose pins you look pretty

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yummy! 😍 Thanks for the effort Elaine! Such a lively post,actually it to us to those splendid places along with your words. Wolf is stunning!! And the clicks fab too. And I too watched Christmas time films, my picks was Sleepless In Seattle and You Got Mail.. loved them. How can a Tom Hanks film go wrong! 🙂 Keep sharing, they are great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You did a fantastic job keeping the spirit of Christmas alive. And the feast you cooked up looks splendid, specially the Chicken…. The Madeira was a nice addition. I hope you liked its taste. I absolutely love it. But I sincerely hope that you get to spend the next festive season with friends or family. Have a great year ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aww…first time self made drumsticks….
    Spending time for self, makes you really different…

    Like

  6. Superb post Elaine and a merry Christmas to you dear. 👌👌👌👌🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jim

    it looks delicious. hope it ate well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Shru

    I truly lovd reading this blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful post …Merry Christmas dear Sister

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Happy Christmas & Happy New Year Elaine, I loved the lanterns and your silver studs, it sounds like you had time to replenish yourself and relax. Some of the best Christmases are that way.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Post lengthy aayathukondu samayam kittumbol vaayikkam ennu karuthi !!
    Enna Research a cheyunne ??
    Allenkilum neratthinu stipend kittiyittulla fellows aarum jeevichirippilla ! Kashtamaayippoi…
    Salad kandittu kazhikkan thonnunnu…Good decision to make detox drink from what was available.
    Climaxil better half keri vannu surprise tharum ennokkey karuthiya njan thudangiyathu…
    Bhaviyilulla ella christmasukalum kudumbatthinoppam aavan prardhikkam !!!

    Happy New Year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am pursuing my PhD in Marine Sciences, wishing to be a Marine Biologist/Oceanographer 🙂
      U r right, nerathinu stipend kittaan oru UGC scholar inum vidhiyillaa. Salad okke udaayippu thattikkoottalle 🙂 Detox drink I used regular but stopped due to cold. Better Half entry cheyyaan iniyum kurachukoodi time undu…” Marana Mass Entry ” 😀 😀 😀
      thank u for the wishes 🙂 Stay Blessed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. ഇത് സംഭവബഹുലമാണ്..ഇവിടെ ഒരു പ്ലം കേക്ക് പോലും ഓസിന് കിട്ടിയില്ല. 😥 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    • ithu pinne… ottakku engane happy aakaam, engaged aayi irikkam ennu nokkiyatha :p

      Like

      • ഒറ്റയ്ക്ക് ആവുന്നത് ചിലപ്പോഴൊക്കെ നല്ല രസാണ്. ഞാന്‍ ഗള്‍ഫില്‍ രണ്ട് കൊല്ലം ഒറ്റയ്ക്ക് ഒരു റൂമില്‍ ഒരു ഓഫീസില്‍ ഒറ്റയ്ക്ക് അങ്ങനെ ആയിരുന്നു..പുസ്തകം ഒക്കെ വായിക്കാന്‍ തോന്നും കവിത കേള്‍ക്കാന്‍ തോന്നും. പക്ഷേ കൂടെ ആള്‍ക്കാര്‍ ആയാല്‍ ആ ഇഷ്ടങ്ങളൊക്കെ പോവും

        Liked by 1 person

      • yeah, we get deviated a lot 😦 its always necessary to find some personal time 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Beautiful post! Hope you had great Christmas. I am so glad you liked my recipe and photos look’s fabulous! In between I love madeira wine and glad to know you live in Goa. One of my favourate holiday destination.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank u so much Sumith for ur suggestion orelse i wouldnt have attempted it. I am a foodie but never went out of my conservative track when it comes to cooking. Basically I dont utilize my time enjoying cooking. 😦 I will try more whenever I get time to give a self pampering time 🙂 I found the wine pretty good 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Nice post….☺🙂🤗😗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

A Blog to Regret

It's hard being a teenager, especially when you're 30

MISSION BE-YOU TIFUL

Skincare, beauty product reviews, DIY's and more

Apricity All The Way

Living through art. Art-ing through life.

ANAKHARICHU

💓THE PROFIT OF LOVE IS ALWAYS TEARS .... MY TEARS ARE MY WORDS .... :(

coffin

where my thoughts are resting in peace

Of Books and Reading

Hmmm so I am the Hungry Reader. The one who reads. The one who is constantly reading or wanting to read constantly. This blog is all about the books I have read, the ones that I am reading and gems that I plan to read in the future or whenever it arrives.

The DIY Librarian

Do-It-Yourself with your own [untraditional] librarian!

beautyobsessed555.wordpress.com/

Beauty And Lifestyle Blog

നഷ്ട്ടനീലാംബരി

തട്ടുമ്പുറത്തെ ഓട്ടുപാത്രങ്ങൾ ക്ലാവ്പിടിച്ചുതുടങ്ങി... എല്ലാം ഒന്ന് തേച്ചുമിനുക്കണം... അവയ്ക്കുമുണ്ടല്ലോ ചില കഥകൾ പറയാൻ.. പോയ് മറഞ്ഞ ആഡംബരങ്ങളുടെ കഥകൾ..

മര്‍ത്ത്യലോകം

അറിഞ്ഞവരും അറിയാത്തവരും അറിവുകെട്ടവരും അടങ്ങുന്ന മര്‍ത്ത്യന്റെ ലോകം

LipstickForLunch

The Musings Of A BeautyHolic

A Dream Lived Greener

Zero Waste Family Life and Shopping in Ottawa, Canada

