home…

3c931d1df27ca881726bfd3f2ac4b66a

“It has been a very long day. I have been travelling for so many days in the ship. There had been many a time I wanted to quit this job. Being a sailor had been a boon and bane for me. This kept me away from my family. Now I am on my way back to my home. Home, a place where my soul always wanted to be.  For past 6 months, I sent them two letters from two ports where our ship halted for few days during the journey. My letters of being well at my job would have brought a great peace to my family. My mother and father would be calm and wife would rejoice silently with a smiling exhale. My children would be running around the grown-ups while they hear about my ship set sailing back to our port. Today my ship anchored at the port in morning. I bid bye to my fellowmen and started for home. We will be sailing after two months and captain will post letters for all his employs once the next sailing time is fixed. 

The old caravan took its passengers from the port and moved towards the town. It will cross several villages in the valleys and cross the mountain to reach the far away town. It was congested with people and luggage/trade materials from the port. On my way back, I tried to forget my hardships at the sea and recollected my thoughts about my home. At home, nobody knows my arrival. I will be reaching in another one hour. My village is third next from the port. I will reach before noon. The sky was clear and nature was lush green. The caravan drew away after dropping me on the road. I stayed at the side of the dusty road for few minutes looking at the dusty trail left by departing caravan. In a moment I gained my mind and looked around. I could feel a warm breeze welcoming me. It lessened my weariness a bit and brought a smile. I took my bags and started walking across the fields. The fields had the young corn plants all over, for the crop season.  

Now I could see my home, my heart started fluttering with joy. I was standing at the end of corn-field. Between me and my home, now lies just one grassy land where my children used to play. Once upon a time, the same grassy land held the playground for me and my four siblings. My dusty boots were brushed by the slender grassy pasture on the land. I could see the smoke curls from the chimney. My mother will be sitting near the fireplace with her usual knitting tools. She is preparing for winter. Near her, will be my father in his rocking chair, with my youngest son, Leo. He will be narrating some old stories. My dog, Bruno will be sleeping down on the floor, bored by the story. My eldest son, John and Laura younger to him will be at the barn.  Louie, younger to Laura will be in and around the kitchen . He finds joy in being with his mother. His mother, Jane will be now at the kitchen involved in her cooking.

 Jane, her thought brought an immense happiness to my thoughts. In my absence, she takes care of the entire family with great effort and never let my absence be felt for anything among them. She has been my heartthrob from my childhood. The thought of her sun-kissed golden skin during the early morning, her warm kisses on my forehead, the long walks with John along the corn-fields, brown long hair curls of Laura, tickles given by naughty Louie, milk flavored wet kisses and deep blue eyes of little Leo.  My feet gained speed to cross the land. In no time, I was standing at the front door of my home. I knocked twice….”
No one heard his knock, nor he noticed the rusted lock over the front door. He went on knocking the front door!!!
93cdcc447830adb107f602bed56ec487

This is my 50th blog post. Hope I could keep up with readers expectations. I would love to know 🙂

നീലാംബരിയുടെ ലോകം-3

12524084_1162251937132194_880793086143976999_n
Painting done by Mopasang Valath (Source: facebook)

Previous part 2

റോഡിൽ നിന്ന് നോക്കിയാൽ വയലിനക്കരെ തഴച്ചു വളരുന്ന തൊടിയിലെ മരങ്ങൾക്കിടയിലൂടെ ഒരു വെള്ള പോലെ കാണൂ , അത് വീടാണ് എന്ന് പെട്ടെന്ന് മനസിലാകില്ല.പടിക്കെട്ടുകൾ കയറി മുറ്റത്തേക്ക് ചെല്ലുമ്പോൾ രാവിലത്തെ വെയിലിൽ പനമ്പായിൽ നെല്ല് ഉണക്കാൻ ഇടുകയാണ് ‘അമ്മ . എന്നത്തേയും പോലെ ഒന്ന് കൂകി . ഈ കൂകൽ പണ്ട് തൊട്ടേ ഉള്ളതാ, ഞാൻ പുറത്തു പോയിട്ടു വീട്ടിൽ എത്തി എന്നതിന് വീട്ടുകാർക്ക് ഉള്ള എന്റെ അറിയിപ്പ് (മുന്നറിയിപ്പ് എന്ന് പറയുന്നതാവും കുറച്ചുകൂടി ശരി) ആണ് . എന്റെ ഹാൾമാർക് മുദ്രയാണത് . എന്നെ കണ്ടപാടെ അമ്മയുടെ മുഖത്ത് പുഞ്ചിരി വിടർന്നു. ഇവിടുത്തെ കാരണവർ, അതായത് എന്റെ പിതാശ്രീ പുറത്തു പോയിരിക്കുകയാണ് എന്ന് അറിയാൻ കഴിഞ്ഞു. അമ്മമ്മ വർഷാവർഷം ഉള്ള അമ്മാവന്റെ വീട് സന്ദർശനത്തിനും.

വീടിനു പുറമെ വലിയ മാറ്റം ഒന്നുമില്ല.വെള്ള പൂശിയതു മങ്ങി തുടങ്ങി. കിളികളുടെയും അണ്ണന്റെയും ബഹളത്തിൽ കാര്യമായ മാറ്റം ഒന്നും ഇല്ല. മുറ്റത്തേക്ക് വെയിൽ വീണു തുടങ്ങി. എന്നെ കണ്ടടത്തും പുറംപണിക്കു നിൽക്കുന്ന കൊങ്ങി അടുക്കൽ വന്നു വെളുക്കെ ചിരിച്ചു സുഖ വിവരം അനേഷിച്ചു. അവരുടെ സഹായം അമ്മയ്ക്ക് വലിയ ആശ്വാസമാണ്. അമ്മയുടെ “പി. എ.” എന്നാണു ഞങ്ങൾ കുട്ടികൾ അവളെ കളിയാക്കാറ്. അവളുടെ ഭർത്താവ് ചെല്ലാൻ ആണ് വീട്ടിൽ അച്ഛന്റെ കൃഷി സഹായി. മുറ്റത്തു അങ്ങു ഇങ്ങായി കോഴികൾ അമ്മയുടെ തിരോധാനം നോക്കി നിൽക്കുന്നത് അമ്മയ്ക്ക് അറിയാം. നെല്ല് നോക്കാൻ അമ്മ കൊങ്ങിയെ ഏൽപ്പിച്ചു. വേഗം വൃത്തിയായി വരൂ …യാത്ര ക്ഷീണം ഉള്ളതല്ലേ, കാപ്പി എടുത്തു വയ്ക്കാം എന്ന് പറഞ്ഞു അമ്മ എന്നെയും കൊണ്ട് അകത്തേക്ക് കയറി. അമ്മ അടുക്കളയിലേക്കും ഞാൻ മുകളിലെ എന്റെ സ്വന്തം സാമ്രാജ്യത്തിലേക്കും നടന്നു.